Adi Kailash Route Map

Adi Kailash Route Map

Adi Kailash or Chhota Kailash is a holy and majestic mountain peak situated in the state of Uttarakhand in India. It is located in the secluded part of the Kumaon Himalayas and at the same time has significance both for the pilgrims and the trekkers.

The ascend to Adi Kailash is an arduous but spiritually rewarding journey, through which you would see stunning vistas and establish deep links with nature.

Adi Kailash Route Map

Route Map

Most of the ascension to Adi Kailash starts at Dharchula, the little town that acts as the gate to this sacred journey. Dharchula is accessible easily by road and can be reached from some of the main cities in Uttarakhand.

Beginning from Dharchula one can trek the tough route to Adi Kailash which takes one through gorgeous villages, dense forests and tough terrains.

Here’s a detailed route map along with distances: Here’s a detailed route map along with distances:

From Kathgodam to Pithoragarh (180 km / 7-8 hrs.) at 1514 m altitude

The first part of the journey begins from Kathgodam. The initial 180 km stretch takes 7-8 hours to reach Pithoragarh, which is at a height of 1514 meters.

Major Highlights

  • Kainchi Dham
  • Golu Devta Temple at Chitai
  • Jageshwar Dham via Bhimtal and Almora

From Pithoragarh to Dharchula (91 kms/3 hrs approximate drive) 1,015 meters;

Going south eastwards, you travel for about 3 hours or 91 km until you arrive at Dharchula at an altitude of 940 m.

Major Highlights-

  • Gori and Kali River
  • Jwaleshwar Temple

Gunji/Nabi (80km) is Dharchula’s elevation of 3000 m.

From Dharchula, the track weaves up to Gunji / Nabi covering a distance of 80 km with an elevation of 3000 m above sea level.

 Major Highlights

  • Pangla
  • Mangti
  • Budi Village
  • Chiyalekh Meadows
  • Mount Aapi
  • Garbyang
  • Namjing Parvat
  • Napalchu
  • Annapurna Range

Gunji-Kalapani-Navidhang-Nabi (Om temples) at 3050 m height.

The journey offers a magnificent view with the glimpses of Gunji, Kalapani, and Navidhang, the ultimate stop at Om Parvat from an elevation of 3050 meters.

 Major Highlights

  • Om Parvat
  • Ganesh Parvat
  • Naag Parvat
  • Vyas Gufa
  • Kali mandir at Kalapani
  • Nabhi Parvat

The Nab-Jolingkong, the hike to 6310 m Adi Kailash Mountain (ca.1 hr. approx.).

Take a brief 30 km drive towards Jyolingkong, about 1 hour away from Nabi. It is at this point that the journey reaches its climax when the audience beholds the breathtaking Mount Adi Kailash that towers at 6310 meters.

Major Highlights

  • Kutti Village
  • Kunti Killa
  • Nikarchu Parvat Darshan
  • Parvati Sarovar visits
  • Adi Kailash Parwati Mukut
  • Pandav Parvat
  • Gauri Kund Darshan

Nabi to Dharchula (14 km / 1 hr) at 12466 ft

Going downhill, an asphalt road 14 km away of roughly one hour would take you from Nabi to Dharchula, at an altitude of 12,140 feet.

 Major Highlights

  • Parvati Temple
  • Chaukori
  • Adi Kailash Views
  • Kali Temple

Limyat to Katmut (270 km / 7-8 hrs)

The last stage of the expedition is covering 270 km in 7-8 hours retracing the route from Dharchula to Kathgodam.


The Adi Kailash trek is a journey that tests not just your physical limits but also your spiritual power. The above detailed route-map serves as a step-by–step guide for those with a desire to undertake this soul-stirring voyage.

From the lively Dharchula town to the peak of sacred Adi Kailash, every single step is filled with natural beauty, rich cultural values, and enlightening spirit.

Also Read